12 Amp Electric 7.5" Lawn Edger / Trencher

ITEM WG896

More Views

Precise, clean-cut edges


Powerful 12 Amp motor provides professional, clean cut edges

3-position blade depth adjustment for various applications

Cutting line indicator for optimal precision

Adjustable shaft to accommodate height and posture

12 Amp Electric 7.5" Lawn Edger / Trencher ITEM WG896
$89.99

Availability: In stock

Ships for FREE
GET DETAILS
3 Year Warranty
30 Day Guarantee
OR
SPECS & MANUALS
Technical Specifications
  • Rated Voltage
    120V~60Hz
  • Rated Power
    12 Amps
  • No-Load Speed
    4700/min
  • Blade Diameter
    7-1/2"
  • Blade Cutting Depth
    1", 1-1/4", 1-1/2"
  • Machine Weight
    14 lbs
  • Warranty
    3 Years
WHAT'S INCLUDED
You're Getting
  • (1) - 12 Amp Lawn Edger / Trencher
  • (1) - 7.5" Blade
FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Does this come with a battery and charger?

    No, this model does not come with a battery or charger. This is an electric tool.



  • How is the Lawn Edger / Trencher different from other WORX Trimmer / Edger tools like the WG170?

    WORX trimmers like the GT Revolution (WG170) are designed to trim grass in difficult to reach spaces, edge your lawn, and some are even designed with a mini-mower function, and use the DNA2 Line to cut. The Lawn Edger / Trencher is a little different. This tool uses a 7.5" blade to edge, define garden features, or to dig trenches in your yard to bury wires. The Lawn Edger / Trencher does not trim grass.



  • What is this tool used for?

    The Lawn Edger / Trencher is a 2-in-1 tool designed to give you a professional and more clean cut edge to your lawn or garden features than a typical trimmer/edger can provide. The 7.5" blade can also cut trenches suitable for more pronounced defined edges around garden features, or burying line in your yard for invisible fencing, or tools like the Landroid.



  • Is the Electric Lawn Edger adjustable?

    Yes, the handle pivots for maximum comfort and control.



  • How heavy is the 7.5" Electric Lawn Edger / Trencher?

    The Lawn Edger / Trencher weighs about 14 lbs.



  • How do I change the blade on the 7.5" Lawn Edger / Trencher?

    Complete instructions and illustrations for changing the blade are included in your owner's manual. Before changing the blades, unplug your Lawn Edger / Trencher and wear safety gloves.



  • Are blades included with the 7.5" Electric Lawn Edger / Trencher? How do I change the depth setting?

    Yes, each Electric Lawn Edger / Trencher includes 1 blade to get you started. Need more? Replacement Blades are available.


    Push the edge guide knob towards the blade, then push down to change the depth setting. For more complete information, review your owner's manual for more complete information.



  • What kind of blades does the Lawn Edger / Trencher use?

    The Lawn Edger / Trencher uses 7.5" heavy-duty steel blades features serrated edges for professional-looking, manicured cut. The blades features two wear indicators that show when it needs to be replaced.


    Replacement blades are available under Accessories.



  • What is the maximum cutting depth for the Electric Lawn Edger / Trencher? Can I make adjustments to the cutting depth?

    The 7.5" Electric Lawn Edger / Trencher has three depth settings: 1", 1.25", 1.5"



  • My Edger / Trencher slows down when I'm using it for the first time each season. What am I doing wrong?

    Probably nothing. For the first edging each season, it is best to proceed slowly since the grass will be at its thickest then. Subsequent edging will be easier and faster. If the tool does slow down, back up an inch or two until the blade returns to normal speed and try again. For more information, review your owner's manual.



  • It's been raining a lot. Is it easier to edge the wet ground?

    The Edger / Trencher should not be used in wet or moist ground both for electrical safety and to prevent clogging of the blade chamber.



  • What do I do if my Edger / Trencher clogs?

    If the blade chamber becomes clogged after using it during wet conditions, it must be unclogged before you can proceed. Do NOT attempt to unclog the blade chamber by dropping or tapping the tool on the ground. Release the trigger and wait for the blade to come to a stop. Unplug the tool to prevent accidental starts. Before working near the blade, wear gloves. Open the door on the trimmer and remove the clogged materials with a stick.



  • What kind of extension cord should I use with the 12 Amp Electric 7.5" Lawn Edger / Trencher?

    The right extension cord will ensure you get the performance you expect and will extend the life of your tools. Look for an extension cord rated for Outdoor Use and make sure the gauge of the cord is appropriate for the length you’re using. The WG896 is a 12A tool, so check for gauge and length on the grid here, or in your manual. Your local hardware or garden supply store will be happy to help you select the right cord to meet your needs.



  • Does the Lawn Edger / Trencher come pre-assembled?

    There is some minor assembly required, but should take less than 5 minutes and will not require tools.



  • I misplaced my manual. Is there anywhere I can get more information?

    You can download the manual here. Our friendly customer service team will be glad to answer any questions you may have at 1-866-354-9679 (WORX).



  • Are there any precautions I should follow when using the WORX Lawn Edger / Trencher?

    Carefully review the owner’s manual for all safety information and guidelines for using the WORX Lawn Edger / Trencher?. Follow safety precautions while using any power tools – including wearing safety eyewear, gloves, appropriate shoes & clothing, and keeping hair tied back. See the owner’s manual for complete safety instructions and details.



  • What is the guarantee/warranty?

    If you decide the 7.5" Electric Lawn Edger / Trencher isn’t the right tool for you, we offer a 30-day Money Back Guarantee from date of receipt (less shipping and handling). Please call our customer service center at 1-866-354-9679 (WORX) and we’ll be happy to assist. View more information here.


    We know your tools are indispensable, so we cover each tool with a 2 Year Limited Consumer Warranty. You can extend your warranty to 3 years by registering online within 30 days of purchase. Already have your Edger / Trencher? Register now!


    Parts subject to normal wear and tear are not covered by the tool’s warranty.


    View more information on our warranty here.



  • Where can I get replacement parts?

    Need more accessories? Many replacement parts are available under Accessories.


IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Important Information

California proposition 65 WARNING:

This product can expose you to chemicals including lead, phthalate or bisphenol A which are known to the State of California to cause cancer, birth defects or other reproductive harm. Wash your hands after use. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Proposition 65 de la Californie AVERTISSEMENT:

Ce produit peut vous exposer à des produits chimiques, incluant au plomb, au phtalate ou au bisphénol A, qui sont reconnus dans l'État de Californie comme pouvant causer un cancer, des anomalies congénitales ou d'autres dommages à l'appareil reproducteur. Assures-vous de bien vous laver les mains après usage. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter le site www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Propuesta de California 65 ADVERTENCIA:

Este producto puede exponerlo a químicos que incluyen plomo, ftalato, o bisfenol A que se sabe en el Estado de California que causan cáncer, defectos de nacimiento u otros daños reproductivos. Lave sus manos después de usarlo. Para más información visite www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
12 Amp Electric 7.5" Lawn Edger / Trencher is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 248.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerhorse I’ve had the leaf blower mulch since it came out, just love it. Just recently purchased the lawn edger, WOW! WORX has been a great addition to for my yard.. heavy duty, long lasting, and works like a pack of mules. I’m looking forward to the next great tool they come out with.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Eater/Edger I’ve Ever Owned Saw an infomercial a month ago and my wife and I immediately thought to heck with it. We ordered one, it came in no time, and my wife called to tell me how easy it is to use. She told me it’s maybe 5lb’s. It’s the easiest thing she’s ever used as far as lawn equipment...
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fastest lawn edger on the Planet I bought my WORX Edger/Trimmer in August 2913 and I believe it is the best lawn Edger ever invented! First it is very light so even my slim wife can edge while I mow. Second, the design allows us to switch to trimming in less than 15 seconds! So one tool doing 2 Jobs saves a lot of time. Third, the Edger produces a very clean cut with much less dirt being touched which means I can edge when grass is wet without producing a lot of muddy dirt which then has to be hosed off the sidewalk, agin saving a lot of time. In summary, I get a better than professional result in about 75% less time! Are Zelenak Macomb, Michigan
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and easy We bought this 3 months ago and absolutely love it. It’s so easy to use and lightweight!
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Built very well,... beefy, and sturdy This is an awesome edger! The only way they could make one better as if it was battery operated! This thing is easy to use, and as solid as a Tonka truck back in the day! Very nice piece!
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer I love it My late husband got this for me six or seven years ago I like it so much I got a second trimmer
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So east to handle I bought this trimmer because of the ease to replace the string! I love the free replacement method, ever other trimmer I have ever owned was such a hassle to do the restring! Love the new edger.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great just pay attention to the instruction. It works just as the instructions said it would. Great product
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the versatility of my edger Purchased a little over a month ago, I’m impressed with how easy it is to load the cord and change from edging to trimming. Love it! I also purchased the pressure washer and an additional battery.
Date published: 2018-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from edger review After looking both on line and at nearby stores, the Worx Edger seemed to be well thought out ! I liked the three wheel design along with the drop down guide to help keeping it against the edge of the driveway ! I knew after having to replace batteries in other equipment I wanted a plug in model ! We just had a drive thru driveway put in and I have a lot of edging to do, but I have several outlets I can use so didn’t mind using a long cord ! Plus I already have a 100 ft cord with the right type of non-grounded end ! The Worx Edger is gear, plenty powerful and as the advertisement says, could be used as a trencher to bury wires ! I am very pleased with it !
Date published: 2018-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got this and I love it !!!! Easy to use, the battery last long, I got a gas trimmer and I heated it, so many steps to follow not to mention the noise... this trimmer it's amazing!!! get it get it ,,, thumb up Thank you WORX
Date published: 2018-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All-In-One Quickly and easily takes care of many edging and trimming tasks!
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and surprising performance. We bought this last year when my wife said that if I bought a good lightweight trimmer, she would do the trimming. Done! Glad we did. This lightweight tool really does the job. We have since bought the blower and now considering a mower. Impressive equipment.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it My husband was always hooked on gas powered until my daughter purchased this then he had to have one really loved it it’s easier to use and battery lasts along time
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALWAYS starts Gives in excellent edge two driveways and walkways. Suggest the first time when edging overgrown grass that you use a forward and backward motion , after the first edging you can walk just forward and it will do an excellent job without clogging up.
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very Happy Wife(priceless) My wife hated to gas up the weed eater not to mention pulling the pullrope,while trying to adjust choke . Soooo, Our anniversary was close, she expected flowers , but got the 3 in 1 weed eater.. Now I have a happy spouse,AND I don't have to weedeat....
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great little machine . . . I am so delighted with my little WORX Edger. In the past I used my husband’s gas-powered edger, but when he passed on I decided to find something that would suit me better. Ladies, if you’re in your 70s, and trying to get away from gas fumes or having to buy gas, this is the edger for you! It took me a bit to figure out the depth I wanted it to cut, but once I did I haven’t had to change the setting, although it’s super easy to do so. As long as you cut close to the edge, everything that you want trimmed will be trimmed well. It doesn’t matter how tough the grass is, it “worx” great. One of my lawns is St Augustine, and this little machine has no trouble at all chopping through those long fat tentacles. I say little machine because I love the fact that it is so lightweight. Also, once I got used to the electrical cord, although I remain cautious, it’s easy to maneuver with it. It takes curves easily . . . Well I could go on and on . . . But anyway, it’s GREAT!
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I real like my edger it is so easy to and easy to I bought it about 2 Months ago and i use it every week. I have the small blower to i like it.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I bought this a few weeks ago myself and my wife love it. It is light weight, no mess with electrical wires , no mess or smell of gas. Does a great job. Already showed it to my brother in law. He told his wife he wanted one.
Date published: 2018-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong enough to do the job. I went with electric, because I'm getting lazy and didn't want to have to fool with engine maintenance down the road. The 12 amp motor is strong enough to do the job even with a sidewalk that had never been edged.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sure beats my Craftsman by a long shot I've had mine for over 1 year and I love it
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked awesome! Have not had any issues - i do a deep edge with this & then use my regular Worx battery powered edger in between - makes the lawn look awesome!
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this michins does a great job
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I wanted an electric edger. I chose Worx because of the weed eater I purchased from them and have been very pleased with both choices. I like that it is light weight and easy to use.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy adjustment for cutting depth and the handles I bought this several weeks ago and used it just 1 time so far. I use to do it with the shovel so when I used the edger for the first time I was giggling until I was done. It worked so smooth and easy while making a sharp cut to make it look very professional. Well worth every penny.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and light to you is no gas and no well excell Showed my neighbors and went up and you said that my sisters house also
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to use! I am a 71 year young grandma that does all the weedeating around our acre property. This weedeater is the "bomb"! It is lightweight and easy to use. I absolutely love it!
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful tool We bought this 2 wks ago and it is the greatest. Love it!
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time and work saver. My wife saw me struggling with my old edger. I had contracted lymphoma cancer and my energy levels were poor. This tool was lightweight, powerful, and helped me do a better edging job. Thank you WORX!
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great edger Used this for the first time and it made my job much easier.
Date published: 2018-06-18
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_26, tr_222
  • loc_en_US, sid_WG896, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_worx
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16.18ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT