40V Cordless 20" Hedge Trimmer

ITEM WG280

More Views

PRISTINE HEDGES IN NO TIME? HERE'S YOUR NEW TRIMMER.


Lightweight, compact design means less fatigue, increased productivity

Dual-action blades reduce vibration and deliver fluid performance

D-grip front handle for easy top- and side-cutting

Overmold soft grip handle for improved comfort and grip

40V MaxLithium battery provides double the runtime and faster charging

40V Cordless 20" Hedge Trimmer ITEM WG280
$161.99

Availability: In stock

Ships for FREE
GET DETAILS
3 Year Warranty
30 Day Guarantee
OR
Now Playing
SPECS & MANUALS
Technical Specifications
  • Rated Voltage
    40V MAX
  • Cutting Length
    20"
  • Cutting Diameter
    3/4"
  • Charging Time
    ≈ 8 hours
  • Machine Weight
    5.8 lbs
  • Warranty
    3 Years
WHAT'S INCLUDED
You're Getting
  • (1) - Battery pack
  • (1) - Charger
  • (1) - Safety guard
  • (1) - Blade sheath
FAQs
Untitled Document
Frequently Asked Questions

How heavy is the hedge trimmer?

The Worx 40V Cordless 20” hedge trimmer only weighs 5.8 lbs, and that includes the battery! The ergonomic design you expect from a Worx tool ensures the weight is evenly distributed between the front and rear handles to make trimming comfortable and easy-to-manage for anyone.

What is the Worx 20v Cordless hedge trimmer’s cutting capacity?

The 40V hedge trimmer has a cutting capacity of 3/4” thick branches and a blade length of 20”.

Does it come pre-assembled?

Each hedge trimmer comes with some minor assembly required, which takes 5 minutes or less and only requires a Phillips head screwdriver. Please refer to your manual for specific instructions.

How long can you trim on each 40 Volt Max Lithium battery charge?

Each 40 Volt Max Lithium Battery has double the runtime of the 20V (1.5Ah) Worx battery. That’s enough working time per charge to keep the greenery on the average 1/2 acre lawn looking sharp. And with a cutting capacity of up to 3/4” diameter and a 20” blade length, you’ll tackle it in less time than you ever thought possible. Actual results may vary on a number of factors including user, density of the greenery and age of the battery.

Is the battery going to be powerful enough?

Worx lithium batteries are surprisingly powerful for their compact size. Our 40V Max lithium batteries have double the power of our 20V (1.5Ah) batteries. If we trust our 20V batteries to power our professional cordless drills through concrete and large timbers, you can believe the 40V battery included with the hedge trimmer will easily give your bushes, shrubs and other greenery the professionally manicured look you want.

Is the battery larger than previous models?

The Worx 40V 20” Cordless hedge trimmer features our highest capacity battery to date and is slightly larger than previous models. The 40 Volt Max Lithium Battery included with the Worx 20” Cordless Hedge Trimmer has double the run time of the 20V (1.5Ah) Worx battery and can hold twice the amount of energy as previous models.

What is the horsepower rating of Worx lithium tools?

Battery powered DC motors are not rated for horsepower as output power is only measured with gas or induction AC (corded) motors. Worx lithium powered products were designed with sufficient power to get the job done quickly & easily.

How long does it take to charge the 40 Volt Max battery?

It takes about 8 hours to fully charge the battery.

Are lithium batteries interchangeable with the Ni-Cad?

Our lithium tools and Ni-Cd tools are separate platforms and are not interchangeable. Lithium batteries offer our customers maintenance-free technology without the hassle of managing the memory effect inherent in Ni-Cad batteries.

Are the 40 Volt Max Lithium batteries interchangeable with the either the 20 Volt or 32 Volt Max Lithium Batteries?

While Powershare allows you to share batteries between tools within the same voltage family, batteries should only be used with tools of a corresponding voltage. Use your 40V Max Lithium battery with any 40V Worx tool, but save your 20V batteries for your 20V tools and your 32V battery for your 32V tools.

Can I use the tool without the safety guard? I have experience with other hedge trimmers and will be the only one using it.

The safety guard is designed to protect you from any debris while trimming. Removing the guard will void the tool’s warranty and puts you at risk for injury. Please refer to your owner’s manual for specific safety instructions.

My Cordless Hedge Trimmer won’t start when I pull the trigger. What’s wrong?

Worx takes your safety in mind with each tool we design. To prevent accidentally starting the tool and protect against injury, each cordless hedge trimmer includes a 2-stage trigger. In order to start the trimmer, squeeze both the trigger on the front handle and the trigger in the rear handle. Both triggers must be held down during operation of the tool. If either trigger is released during operation, the hedge trimmer will stop.

Are there any precautions I should follow when using the Worx 40V 20” Cordless Hedge Trimmer?

Always wear the proper safety gear and maintain a clean, safe workspace. For more information, please check out the owner’s manual.

What is the guarantee/warranty?

If you decide the Worx 40V 20” Cordless Hedge Trimmer isn’t right for you, we offer a 30-day Money Back Guarantee from date of receipt (less shipping and handling). Please call our customer service center at 1-866-354-9679 (Worx) and we’ll be happy to assist. For more information, click here.

We know your tools are indispensable, so we cover each tool with a 2 Year Limited Consumer Warranty. You can extend your warranty to 3 years by registering online within 30 days of purchase. Already have your trimmer? Register now!

Worx batteries are covered by a 1 Year Limited Consumer Warranty and are not eligible for warranty extension.

Parts subject to normal wear and tear are not covered by the tool’s warranty.
For more information on our warranty, click here.

Where can I get replacement parts?

Lose a blade sheath? Need an extra battery or charger? Many replacement parts are available on our website under Accessories, or by contacting our customer service center at 1-866-354-9679 (Worx).
IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Important Information

California proposition 65 WARNING:

This product can expose you to chemicals including lead, phthalate or bisphenol A which are known to the State of California to cause cancer, birth defects or other reproductive harm. Wash your hands after use. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Proposition 65 de la Californie AVERTISSEMENT:

Ce produit peut vous exposer à des produits chimiques, incluant au plomb, au phtalate ou au bisphénol A, qui sont reconnus dans l'État de Californie comme pouvant causer un cancer, des anomalies congénitales ou d'autres dommages à l'appareil reproducteur. Assures-vous de bien vous laver les mains après usage. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter le site www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Propuesta de California 65 ADVERTENCIA:

Este producto puede exponerlo a químicos que incluyen plomo, ftalato, o bisfenol A que se sabe en el Estado de California que causan cáncer, defectos de nacimiento u otros daños reproductivos. Lave sus manos después de usarlo. Para más información visite www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
40V Cordless 20" Hedge Trimmer is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 100.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful little trimmer This trimmer does a great job on blackberrys and small tree limbs. Very happy with its performance.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it we bought the trimmer the first part of summer. it has saved my 88yr.old husband a lot of hard work. it is light weight and you don't have to worry about cutting the electric cord. I love using it too, I can at least handle yours.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Upgraded from the 20 volt model and it was the right choice. The battery last longer than me. Both my wife and I like the weight and balance.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool I bought this trimmer and I don't regret it one bit. I love it and it get the job done with a smooth cut!!!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Particularly like the length of this tool, I had been using an old electric and dragging that cord around was a trial, this long tool lets me reach areas that before would have required me standing on a ladder.Also I am a very active young 87 year old who maintains his own property , the gas powered products proved to be a challenge to start so I have switched all implements to electric as I am able to find what I want.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY VERSITAL , NO NEED FOR CORD , SECONDS TO USE BOUGHT 4 WEEKS AGO , WIFE USES , WITH NO COMPLAINTS . GREAT
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light Weight with Power I do not miss 100-foot cords! This trimmer is light weight and easy to transport. Easy to use for shaping evergreens and bushes. Powerful enough to prune taller, lankier ornamental trees.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm 71 and this trimmer is perfect for me. light weight and easy to use. I love it
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worx Greats Worx great, no extension cors or gas mix. Made my trimming a breeze!
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lighweight Hedge Trimmer I bought the 40V Lawn Trimmer and was very pleased with the light weight and less stress on my back from using a professional weight gas trimmer. So, I bought this 40V Hedge Trimmer to go with the lawn trimmer and I am very pleased. This is a great little trimmer that works well on holly hedges, yaupon, red tips, boxwoods and others. I now know that I can get rid of the gas trimmers and quit buying gas and oil to mix. The greatest benefit is that these trimmers are back savers!
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the Trimmer you need Bought this trimmer to reduce weight. My gas trimmer is heavy and very hard on my back. This trimmer is lightweight and does all the work I have been used to with my gas trimmer.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and easy to use. No gas - no cord - no problem. Wish I had purchased this years ago. Plenty of power and the battery lasted for my whole yard of trimming!
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard Working Tool I had 5 large box woods to trim and the battery never faltered . Like the extra length on the cutting bar, too.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this few weeks ago and it works great on my cedar trees
Date published: 2018-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent buy Light weight even with 40v battery. Good power, good battery life
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No cord cutting!! I always used a corded Hedge Trimmer, so very happy I switched to the Worx cordless. Very light and so much easier to use without worrying about cutting the cord. So instead of worrying about cutting the cord, just cut the cord and use the worx cordless ! you will be so happy you did!
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lighter and easier than my old corded B&D So much easier to use now that I don't micromanage a cord that falls out constantly. Plenty of power.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 40V Cordless I purchased this to replace a corded hedge trimmer which expired. As I have purchased a few things from WORX and had a 40V tool already, this was a good opportunity. Used it for the first time and loved the safety feature where the trigger and handle bar both have to be in use for the trimmer to work!
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great and I don't have to worry about a cord My daughter was forever borrowing my corded trimmer and when I needed it the trimmer wasn't returned.I gave her my old trimmer and replaced it with this cordless. It was just what I needed
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power Cut my trimming time in half,not having to worry about the extension cord being in my way.Light & easy to maneuver. My hedges never looked so good.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Workhorse or to coin a phrase.... Worxhorse I have a competing brand's 18v cordless hedge trimmer that works for about 10 minutes before needing a new battery, and a competing brand's corded hedge trimmer that works great, but requires me to manipulate a 100' extension cord. This 40v Worx hedge trimmer has the power of the corded one, and the ease and convenience of the 18v. one. Does so much work on one battery's charge. I like it so much I have also bought the 40v trimmer, blower, and chain saw as well.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight. This product has great features: Lightweight, portable and long lasting battery..
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light & powerful Bought this as a share tool, surprised how much power it had and no strain on the arms on long reach
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight yet powerful !!! Love how light this is and has great power trimmed several hedges quickly and just as well as my old electric one did. Love the 40 volt line of tools i have 3 now the blower and the weed trimmer they all perform greatly !!!
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Nice lightweight hedge trimmer. Works well and battery operated is the way to go. All my WORX tools work great.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous product! I bought this product a few weeks ago to use to trim not only my bushes but also my neighbors. I recently trimmed by azalea bushes and it took me no time at all. It made an easy job of it and was done in less than 15 minutes. Trimmer is very lightweight and easy to maneuver. Definitely beats fighting with a corded trimmer. Would recommend this product most definitely.
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Bought this on a whim.love ease of use and freedom from cord restriction!
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it !! I bought this hedge trimmer,because my gas one had broke down for the last time,so I figured I would try a battery one,and give it a try.Well I Love it,cut my bushs like butter.Could not ask for anything more.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great strength and battery life It does all my hedge trimmings in one battery charge. It's so light too. I'm a 110 lb woman and I have no difficulty using it. I love it.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Perfect for my needs around my Villa!!!
Date published: 2018-06-06
  • y_2018, m_11, d_16, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_92
  • loc_en_CA, sid_WG280, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_worx
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15.36ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

I have a WORX Hedge Trimmer EN Model WG206 20"/3.5amp. Need replacement blades. Not found is stores here?

Asked by: FMBRGB
Thank you for your question. The blades for the hedge trimmer are not user serviceable. We recommend sharpening the blades with a file.
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-09-12

I want the trimmer ' without " the 40V battery ...Already got 2 ...40V batteries !!

Asked by: GQlefty

Do you have any idea when the 40V Cordless 20" Hedge Trimmer, #WG280 will be available? I wanted this to be a COMPLETED Father's Day Gift

Asked by: Ron108
I bought one at Sears a week ago, but it was a few dollars more.
Answered by: Hafcanadian
Date published: 2018-06-30

I want to use my discount coupon but I want to buy multiple items . When will you have this back in? I'm afraid My coupon will expire!!! Sad face

Asked by: KRISTINA

Do you sell replacement blades for the hedge trimmers?

Asked by: Cathy Allnock

Ad on internet says 40volt 20inch hedge trimmer on sale 89.99 plus 10 percent discount with promo code WXSAVE40FS, but when I click buy it says 99.99!! What's up?

Asked by: Evelyn Dail
Thank you for your question. The discount is applied at checkout after you enter the promo code. Thank you for choosing Worx!
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-06-08

why is the 56 v edger not reduced 15% if it is site wide?

Asked by: jamesbond007

New Trimmer is making a high pitched intermittent squeal. Sounds as if it's coming from the housing unit above the blade. What could be the problem?

Asked by: RG58
Thank you for your question. We apologize that your tool is not working properly. Please contact our Customer Care Team at 855-279-0505. We'd be more than happy to assist you with troubleshooting. At that time we will be able to provide you with viable options to resolve your issue. Thank you for choosing Worx!
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-06-08

Can I order the trimmer without a 40v battery? I have an extra 40V for my Hydroshot.

Asked by: Holzman
Thank you for your question. At this time, the 40V Hedge Trimmer is not available as a tool only. Please sign up for our emails at www.worx.com to be the first to know about our new innovative products. Thank you for choosing Worx!
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-08-12

I have been trying to get the WG280 hedge trimmer for ever??? Always put of stock!! What is the DEAL!! I have been have my email request with no results???

Asked by: Mary sue

What kind of oil do I need for the 40v Hedge Trimmer? How do I lubricate the hedge trimmer?

Asked by: Grandma67
Thank you for your question. To lubricate the cutting blade, it is important to use only the recommended standard lubricating oil (WD-40) to avoid damage to the blade. Thank you for choosing Worx!
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-06-08

Wasn’t this hedge trimmer on sale for $79.00, if so I could afford to purchase it.

Asked by: Dennis 46
Thank you for your question. This hedge trimmer was on sale but is no longer on sale at this time. Check back for sales on our products or sign up for our emails and we will tell you when our items are on sale. Thank you for choosing Worx.
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-06-18

Do you sell a 40v hedge trimmer tool only?

Asked by: John04
Thank you for your question. We apologize as we do not sell a 40V hedge trimmer tool only. Thank you for choosing Worx!
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-06-08

Since your 40 volt hedge trimmer is out of stock, can I still purchase it at $99 when it comes back in stock?

Asked by: Luvtns
NO
Answered by: bobharpe
Date published: 2018-07-11

Would this be a good choice to trim black berry bushes?

Asked by: Davehsr
Thank you for your question. We cannot specify what type of bushes our hedge trimmers will cut, but they will cut most bushes. Thank you for choosing Worx!
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-06-08

What is difference 20v and 40v

Asked by: Watt
Thank you for your question. The difference between the 20V and 40V is power. Thank you for choosing Worx!
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-06-08

Can I use my 32v model wa3740 with my 40v  model wa3747 , would like to get dual charger, if I can charge both types of batterie

Asked by: Tamaral
Thank you for your question. The 32V battery is not compatible with the 40V tool. At this time we do not have dual chargers that support either the 32V or 40V batteries. Thank you for choosing Worx!
Answered by: WORX Customer Care
Date published: 2018-06-08
  • y_2018, m_11, d_17, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_25
  • loc_en_CA, sid_WG280, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HAS_STAFF_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_worx
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 24.41ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT